About CCBN


The Colorado Council of Black Nurses, Inc. (CCBN) was founded in May 1973, by a small group of black nurses, who were concerned with the low quality of healthcare provided to minorities. The charter members set out and adopted their mission to facilitate better patient care in the black as well as other minority communities. CCBN’s focus was on health education and patient care needs. They accomplished their objectives by developing action-oriented strategies. One strategy was to collaborate with community organizations, who shared in their vision to improve better access and care for all regardless of race or social-economic status. Another, main objective of CCBN was to recruit more minority nurses into the healthcare industry. Mentoring and providing scholarships to potential nurses enhanced their mission of promoting culturally competent care.

Since CCBN’s inception, we have been involved in many community health promotional activities and educational programs. CCBN provides health screenings and /or workshops on diabetes, cardiac diseases and disorders, sex and HIV/AIDS awareness, as well as other healthcare disparities that affect minorities.
In, 2010 CCBN became a charter of the National Black Nurses Association and with that union the Colorado Council of Black Nurses, Inc. (CCBN) became the Eastern Colorado Council of Black Nurses, Inc. (ECCBN). The collaboration gives ECCBN enhance influence for legislation and policy changes that effect minority consumers as well as healthcare providers within the healthcare industry.

Board of Directors


The Board of Directors helps to provide oversight for reaching our goals. The board of directors is comprised of community leaders, healthcare professionals, and others who are committed to addressing health disparities within the community.

Susan Moyer

Shane Hoon

Robert Blaise




President: Elerie Archer

Vice President: Lynn Hoskins

Treasurer: Chris Bryant

Secretary: Kelci Boyard

Parliamentarian: Loretta Tipton-Perry

Historian: Margie Cook

Chaplain: Emma Jackson

Past President: Chris Bryant

Back to the top




Community Outreach: Elerie Archer – Chair

Education: Lynn Hoskins – Chair

Golf- Lee Thomas- Chair

Scholarship-Robin Bruce- Chair

Marketing/Communication- Jo Blaise- Chair

Membership-Social and Legislation- Margie Ball-Cook-Chair

Professional Development- Lynn Hoskins and Teri Midgyett- Chairs

Back to the top

Comments are closed